Did this article
help you?

This helped me

How to Use Facebook Rooms

Messenger Rooms is a video chat room that allows link sharing to connect more than 1 person but up to 50. This wikiHow will teach you how to use Messenger Rooms on a computer, Android, or iOS phone or tablet.

Method 1
Method 1 of 3:

Creating a Room in Facebook Messenger (Mobile)

  1. This app looks like a blue speech bubble with a lightning bolt inside it. You'll find this app icon on one of your Home screens, in the app drawer, or by searching.
  2. It's in the bottom right corner of your screen and will display all your active contacts.
    Advertisement
  3. This is usually the first option in the menu next to an icon of a video camera.
  4. It's next to "Who Can Join" and is defaulted to "People with the link," which also means people without a Facebook account, but have the link, can join.
  5. If you don't want to change the default setting, don't worry about this and tap outside the options to close the menu without changing anything.
  6. Another window will pop up and prompt you to share the link via Messages, Instagram, Messenger, and other compatible services.
    • Click Copy Link to copy the link to your clipboard and be able to post it anywhere, like a Twitter DM.
    • Tap the"x" icon to end the call and close the room.
    Advertisement
Method 2
Method 2 of 3:

Creating a Room on Facebook.com (Computer)

  1. Go to https://facebook.com and log in. You can use any web browser to create a room.
  2. You'll see this in the center panel below the area where you can post an update.
    • You can also create a Room within a specific group, so only those group members can join. Navigate to that group and click the camera icon, enter a Room activity and give it a name, then click Create.[1]
  3. Click your room name to change it if you don't like the default name. Click the "Start time" to change the Room's start time to a time and date different from "now." And toggle the switch on or off if you want your friends to see your room on Facebook or Messenger.
    • This would be a helpful feature if you're hosting something like a live concert.
  4. It's the large button at the bottom of the window.
    • You'll see another window with a link to the room that you can copy and paste to share with multiple people. You can also click Edit to change visibility settings and privacy settings. By default, only people with the link can join your room.
  5. The room will open in the Messenger app.
    • Click the game icon to start a game with the entire room.
    • Click the red phone icon to end the call and close the room.[2]
    Advertisement
Method 3
Method 3 of 3:

Using Rooms

  1. Click or tap the speech bubble in the top right corner to open up a text field where you can create your message, then click or tap the airplane icon to send it. Chat messages can include text, links, pictures, videos, GIFs, stickers, reactions to previous messages, and polls.
    • Whether you're using the Rooms feature in the mobile Messenger app, on your computer, or from your Facebook News Feed, all these features are available to you.
  2. Select the smiley face with sparkles around it near your face in the Room then choose Effects, Backgrounds, or Lighting to change your appearance. If you don't want any of these options, you can click or tap outside of the menu to close it.[3]
  3. If you're using the mobile app, you'll need to swipe up from the bottom of your screen to see the icons. Click or tap the icon displaying 2 squares and click Your Entire Screen then either Entire Screen or Application Window (if you select "Application Window," you'll need to click to select which application to share), then Share.[4]
    • If you're using messenger.com to share the Room, you have another option. You can also opt to share a specific web browser tab.
  4. Tap the smiley face with sparkles, then tap Activities. You can then tap a game to play with everyone in the Room. However, this feature only works on mobile.[5]
  5. If you don't like someone in the Room, you can remove them if you're the Room creator. Click or tap the icon that displays two people (the "see call participants" button) and click or tap Remove next to the person you want to remove.
    • After you remove someone, the Room will lock and has to remain locked so the removed person can't rejoin the group.
    Advertisement

Expert Q&A

Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit

Advertisement

You Might Also Like

Use Awesome ScreenshotUse Awesome Screenshot
Change Cameo SelfieChange Your Cameos Selfie in Snapchat: 2 Simple Methods
Find an Office Product KeyFind an Office Product Key
Use ClubhouseThe Beginner's Guide on How to Use Clubhouse (& Host Your Own Room)
Start a Room in ClubhouseStart a Room in Clubhouse
Choose a LaptopChoose a Laptop
Select Multiple Files on Windows 11Select Multiple Files on Windows 11
Delete a Zoom Recording Delete a Zoom Recording
Use the Clone Stamp Tool in PhotoshopUse the Clone Stamp Tool in Photoshop
Share Google One Storage with Your Family Share Google One Storage With Your Family
Join or Leave a Room in Clubhouse Join or Leave a Room in Clubhouse (& Ask to Talk)
View Archived Chats on WhatsAppView Archived Chats on WhatsApp
Create Folders in Google DocsCreate Folders in Google Docs
Get the Peacock AppGet the Peacock App
Advertisement

About this article

Darlene Antonelli, MA
Written by:
wikiHow Technology Writer
This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Darlene Antonelli, MA. Darlene has been writing and editing tech content at wikiHow since 2019. She previously worked for AppleCare, served as a writing tutor, volunteered in IT at an animal rescue, and taught as an adjunct professor for EN101 and EN102. Darlene has completed Coursera courses on technology, writing, and language. She holds both a BA (2011) and an MA (2012) from Rowan University in Writing, with a focus on workplace communication. With her extensive experience, academic background, and ongoing learning, Darlene has become the go-to grammar expert for her friends and family, as well as a skilled wordsmith for anyone in need. This article has been viewed 3,999 times.
How helpful is this?
Co-authors: 3
Updated: April 15, 2025
Views: 3,999
Article SummaryX

1. Open Messenger.
2. Tap the People tab.
3. Tap Create a Room.
4. Tap Edit and Only people on Facebook (if you want to change the default setting).
5. Tap Share Link.

Did this summary help you?

Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 3,999 times.

Is this article up to date?

Advertisement