PDF download Download Article
A quick and easy guide to closing your Amazon account
PDF download Download Article

Are you ready to delete your Amazon account? Deleting your Amazon account permanently erases your purchase history, cancels any Amazon-related subscriptions (including Amazon Prime), and deregisters your Amazon devices, such as Kindle, Echo, and Fire TV. Though it's not possible to delete your Amazon account in the mobile app, you can use any web browser on your computer, phone, or tablet to process the cancellation.

Quickly Delete Your Amazon Account

To delete your Amazon account, go to Amazon's data deletion page in any web browser. Select a reason for deletion, check the box, and then click Close My Account. Then, open the confirmation email from Amazon, and click Confirm Account Closure to confirm the deletion of your account.

Section 1 of 2:

Deleting an Amazon Account

PDF download Download Article
  1. Before canceling your Amazon account, check your orders to make sure you don't have any products on the way. You can opt to wait for any products to arrive before canceling, or cancel orders you no longer want to receive. To check for orders:
    • Mobile: In the Amazon mobile app, tap the outline of a person at the bottom of the screen, then tap Your Orders. To see only open orders, tap Filter, then tap Not Yet Shipped.
    • Website: On the Amazon website, hover your cursor over your name at the top-right, click Orders, then click Not Yet Shipped to view open orders.
  2. Go to amazon.com/privacy/data-deletion in your web browser. You can go to this page in any web browser, including mobile browsers on your Android, iPhone, or iPad.[1]
    • If you're not signed in to Amazon in your web browser, you'll see a sign-in screen. Enter your Amazon login details to sign in if prompted.
    • If you want to keep your Amazon account but only cancel your Prime subscription, see our article on canceling Amazon Prime.[2]
    Advertisement
  3. Canceling your Amazon account is permanent, so you'll want to review the list of services you'll lose access to before you commit. Some important things to note:
    • If you own any Amazon devices, such as a Kindle, Echo, Fire TV, or Fire Tablet, your device will be deregistered, and you won't be able to use it until you register it with a different Amazon account.
    • If you have a gift card balance, you will lose access to any unspent funds. To check your balance, go to amazon.com/gc/balance.
    • If you subscribe to Amazon Prime, IMDbPro, Comixology, Amazon Music, Kindle Unlimited, or Audible, your subscriptions will automatically be canceled along with your Amazon account.
    • You'll no longer have access to services like Amazon Pay, Amazon Web Services (AWS), or domains you've purchased or moved to Amazon Registry TLD.[3]
    • If you store photos on Amazon Photos, your photos will be deleted.
    • You'll lose access to any purchases you made through any Amazon services, including audiobooks and podcasts from Audible, e-books on your Kindle, digital music purchases, Amazon Appstore apps, and purchased shows and movies on Prime Video.
    • If you are a Kindle publisher, download and save your Kindle content before closing your account. You won't have access to this content after you delete your account.
  4. Scroll down until you see the yellow box that says "Account Closure is a Permanent Action." Below that, you'll see a drop-down menu from which you can select your reason for deleting your account.[4]
    • Choosing a reason is optional, but this information can be helpful to Amazon.
  5. Click or tap the box next to "Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon Account and delete my data" before clicking the button. Amazon will then send you a confirmation email containing your next steps.[5]
  6. Once you receive the confirmation email from Amazon, open it, and then click the link that says Confirm Account Closure.
    • You must click the link to confirm that you want to delete your Amazon account within 5 days of receiving the email. Your account will remain active until you confirm that you want to delete the account.
  7. Advertisement
Section 2 of 2:

Frequently Asked Questions

PDF download Download Article
  1. 1
    Do I lose access to movies and audiobooks? Yes, if you delete your Amazon account, you won't be able to access any Amazon Prime movies or audiobooks linked to your Audible.
  2. 2
    What happens if I delete my Amazon account? When you delete your Amazon account, you'll lose access to all products and services you accessed through the account. This includes any digital content and services, gift cards, Amazon device registration, and more.
  3. 3
    Can I restore a deleted Amazon account? When you delete your Amazon account, you won't be able to undo it.
  4. Advertisement

Community Q&A

Search
Add New Question
  • Question
    Can I create a new account using the same email address after I close out my old account?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Yes, because your old credentials, such as your email address, have been deleted.
  • Question
    What if the Amazon people don't delete my account in a day or two?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    Try sending them another email letting them know that your account has not been deleted after your first attempt to do so.
  • Question
    Can I recreate my Amazon account after deleting it?
    Community Answer
    Community Answer
    You can always create a new Amazon account, yes. But you will have to start everything from scratch, as the information from your old account will be gone.
See more answers
Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit
Advertisement
Did this article help you? Say thanks with a small tip.
icon
$1
$3
$5
Leave a Tip
Support our mission to help everyone in the world learn how to do anything.

Video

Tips

  • Once your Amazon account is deleted, it can no longer be accessed by you or by any other parties affiliated with Amazon, such as Amazon Sellers, Amazon Associates, Amazon Pay, and more. If you want to use Amazon at any time after you delete your account, you must create a new account.[6]
  • Check your bank account information connected to your Amazon account before closing. After closing your account, any pending credit will be sent to your bank address if it is valid.
  • After deleting your existing Amazon account, you can create a new account later using the same information.
Submit a Tip
All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published
Name
Please provide your name and last initial
Thanks for submitting a tip for review!
Advertisement

About This Article

Stan Kats
Reviewed by:
Professional Technologist
This article was reviewed by Stan Kats and by wikiHow staff writer, Rain Kengly. Stan Kats is a Professional Technologist and the COO and Chief Technologist for The STG IT Consulting Group in West Hollywood, California. Stan provides comprehensive technology solutions to businesses through managed IT services, and for individuals through his consumer service business, Stan's Tech Garage. Stan holds a BA in International Relations from The University of Southern California. He began his career working in the Fortune 500 IT world. Stan founded his companies to offer an enterprise-level of expertise for small businesses and individuals. This article has been viewed 1,400,156 times.
3 votes - 67%
Co-authors: 23
Updated: July 17, 2026
Views: 1,400,156
Categories: Amazon Accounts
Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 1,400,156 times.

Reader Success Stories

  • Jeanine Powers

    Jeanine Powers

    Sep 9, 2017

    "Thank you! It would have taken me so much longer to figure out how to do this without your help. All I wanted to do..." more
Share your story

Did this article help you?

Advertisement