This article was reviewed by Stan Kats and by wikiHow staff writer, Megaera Lorenz, PhD. Stan Kats is a Professional Technologist and the COO and Chief Technologist for The STG IT Consulting Group in West Hollywood, California. Stan provides comprehensive technology solutions to businesses through managed IT services, and for individuals through his consumer service business, Stan's Tech Garage. Stan holds a BA in International Relations from The University of Southern California. He began his career working in the Fortune 500 IT world. Stan founded his companies to offer an enterprise-level of expertise for small businesses and individuals.
This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources.
This article has been viewed 113,211 times.
The algorithms used in Apple Music provide you with helpful recommendations to listen to and discover new music. You may have, however, grown out of that phase or genre of music. This wikiHow will show you how to reset your Apple Music algorithm using an iPhone or iPad, an Android, or a computer. We’ll also explain how to reset the Apple Music app on your TV, game console, or streaming device.
Quick Tips to Reset Apple Music
- If you don’t like the recommendations you’re getting, turn off listening history for a while so they have a chance to reset.
- Get a fresh start by deleting songs, albums, and playlists from your Library.
- You can also delete your profile if you want to get rid of your followers and stop sharing your listening habits.
- If you have a smart TV or streaming device, reset the app before selling the device.
Steps
Turning Off Listening History
-
Open the Settings app. If you don’t like the tracks and albums Apple Music is recommending to you, turning off your listening history for a while can help refresh the algorithm. To get started, open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad’s Home Screen.[1]
- If you’re on a Mac, open the Music app and click Music in the menu bar at the top of the screen, then select Settings.
-
Go to Apps and select Music. Scroll down to the bottom of the Settings menu and select Apps. Tap Music in the M section of the Apps list.
- If you’re on a Mac, just click the General tab at the top of the Music Settings menu.
Advertisement -
Toggle off Use Listening History. Scroll down to find Use Listening History and toggle the switch to the off (grey) position. While this setting is off, you won’t see music you listened to in “Recently Played” or “Replay,” and music you listen to will not influence your recommendations.
- On Mac, uncheck the box next to Use Listening History, then click OK at the bottom right corner of the Settings window.
- If you want, you can turn Use Listening History back on after a few days or weeks to start getting fresh recommendations based on your listening habits.
-
Use a focus mode to temporarily disable listening history (optional). If you share your device with someone else who also uses it to listen to Apple Music (like your partner or your kids), you can create a custom focus mode so their listening habits don’t affect your recommendations. Here’s how:[2]
- Go to Settings > Focus and tap the + icon in the top right corner.
- Tap Custom.
- Enter a name for your focus (like “Music”) and select an icon. Tap Next.
- Tap Customize Focus.
- Tap Add Filter under the Focus Filters header, then select Music.
- Make sure Use Listening History is toggled off, then tap Add.
- While the other person is using your device, enable your custom focus mode. Open the Control Center, tap the arrow next to Focus, and select the custom filter you made to turn it on.
Deleting Your Profile
-
Keep in mind that this won’t do much to affect your listening experience. Your Apple Music profile is mostly a way to connect with friends and family. Deleting it won’t delete any of your music or playlists, and it won’t affect your music recommendations. It will prevent your friends from seeing what you’re listening to, and vice versa.[5]
-
Open the Music app and tap your profile picture. It’s at the top right corner of the screen.
- In the desktop app, it’s at the bottom left corner.
-
Tap View Profile. It’s at the top of the menu.
-
Select Edit. A new menu will open.
-
Scroll down and select Delete Profile. Your profile info and followers will be saved in the system for 90 days after you delete, so if you choose to set up your profile again during that time, all that information will be restored. If you wait longer than 90 days, you’ll have to start from scratch.
Resetting the App on TVs and Streaming Devices
-
Open the Apple Music app on your TV, game console, or streaming device. If you have the Apple Music app on a smart TV, gaming console, or streaming device, you might want to reset it before selling the device or giving it away. This will sign you out of the app and erase all the personal data associated with your Music account from the device.[6]
-
Open Settings. It’s located at the top right corner of the app.
-
Select Reset Apple TV and Apple Music. In the game console version of the app, select Reset Apple Music. Follow any onscreen prompts to finish the reset process.
Expert Q&A
Video
Tips
-
Some Apple Music users recommend allowing your subscription to lapse for a few months to get a completely fresh start.Thanks
References
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-sg/guide/iphone/iph2b1748696/ios
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-sg/guide/iphone/iph2b1748696/ios
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-us/102344
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-us/102344
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-sg/guide/iphone/iphdb6e30b25/ios
- ↑ https://support.apple.com/en-gw/102178
About This Article
1. Open Apple Music.
2. Tap the For You icon that looks like a heart.
3. Tap your profile picture or the silhouette of a person if you didn't set a profile image.
4. Tap View Account.
5. Tap Choose Artists For You.
6. Tap Reset.














