This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Hannah Dillon. Hannah Dillon is a Technology Writer and Editor at wikiHow. She graduated with a B.A. in Journalism from North Dakota State University in 2013 and has since worked in the video game industry as well as a few newspapers. From a young age Hannah has cultivated a love for writing and technology, and hopes to use these passions in tandem to help others in the articles she writes for wikiHow.
This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources.
This article has been viewed 66,538 times.
Learn more...
Sometimes you need to delete a TikTok video, whether you made a mistake or simply don't want to keep it anymore. This wikiHow will show you how to delete a TikTok video after you've uploaded it. Since TikTok works similarly across platforms, these steps will work for both the Android and iPhone versions of the app.
How to Delete TikTok Videos: Quick Steps
- Open TikTok and tap your profile icon.
- Select the video you want to delete.
- Tap the three-dot icon in the bottom-right.
- Tap Delete and confirm your decision.
Steps
Deleting a TikTok Video
-
Open TikTok and tap on your profile icon. It's a silhouette of a person in the bottom right corner of the app, and the button says "Profile."
-
Tap on the video you want to delete. The video will open and start playing.Advertisement
-
Tap the share icon (iOS) or the three-dot menu icon (Android). You'll see these icons on the right side of the video. A menu will slide up from the bottom.
-
Tap Delete. For iOS, this is the last icon in the second row. For Android, this is the last icon in the row presented.
-
Tap Delete. If you see the option labeled Delete and re-edit, tap it to edit the video before reposting. If you want to fully delete the video, however, you can just choose Delete.[1]
Restoring Deleted Posts
-
Open TikTok and tap on your profile icon. It's a silhouette of a person in the bottom right corner of the app, and the button says "Profile."
- If it's been less than 30 days since you deleted your post, you can restore it from the Activity center in your TikTok settings.
-
Tap on the three lines in the upper-right corner. This will open a menu on the right side of your screen.
-
Tap Settings and privacy. It's at the bottom of the menu.
-
Tap Activity center. It's the first option on the menu, and it has an icon of a clock.
-
Tap on Recently deleted. It's about two-thirds down the list, and it has an icon of a trash can.
-
Tap on the TikTok you want to restore. The TikTok will be visible on your screen, and you'll see it play.
-
Tap Restore. It's at the bottom of the screen.
-
Tap Restore again. A pop-up window will appear, letting you know that restoring a post will allow people to view and interact with it again. Once you tap Restore, it will be put back onto your account immediately.[2]
- Restoring a TikTok will also restore all of its comments and likes.
Community Q&A
-
QuestionHow can I get an unwanted video of me, posted on TikTok without my consent, removed?
Community AnswerReport the video directly to TikTok's moderators. Their community guidelines and privacy policies generally prohibit content posted without consent, especially if it infringes on your privacy or is intended to harass.
Video
Tips
References
About This Article
1. Open TikTok.
2. Tap your profile icon.
3. Tap on the video you want to delete.
4. Tap the share or three-dot menu icon.
5. Tap Delete.
6. Tap Confirm or Delete.













