This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Nicole Levine, MFA. Nicole Levine is a Technology Writer and Editor for wikiHow. She has more than 20 years of experience creating technical documentation and leading support teams at major web hosting and software companies. Nicole also holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Portland State University and teaches composition, fiction-writing, and zine-making at various institutions.
This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources.
Learn more...
Whether you've accidentally sent someone a video or have sent a message you now regret, it's super easy to unsend on TikTok. Many TikTokers are able to unsend messages for up to 1 hour after sending, though TikTok's website currently says the feature is only available for 3 minutes.[1] In this guide, we'll show you how to unsend a TikTok video or message on your Android, iPhone, or iPad. We'll also help you troubleshoot and fix issues with not being able to unsend, and explain why it's so easy to accidentally send TikToks to people.
How to Unsend a TikTok
If you accidentally sent a TikTok video or message, you can unsend it if it's been less than 1 hour since you sent it (although TikTok's website currently says you only have 3 minutes—it seems to vary by user, sparking confusion online). To unsend, open the Inbox, tap and hold the message until the menu appears, and tap Unsend. If you don't see the option, tap Delete for Everyone instead.
Steps
How to Unsend a TikTok Video or Message
-
Open your TikTok Inbox. To do so, tap the Inbox icon (a squared-off speech bubble icon) at the bottom of the TikTok app.[2]
- TikTok seems to show different "Unsend" and "Delete" options to different users. Most TikTokers are able to unsend a video or message for up to 1 hour after sending, but others will only have the option for 3 minutes.[3]
- The person you sent the TikTok to will be able to see that you've unsent a message.
-
Tap the chat containing the message or video you want to unsend. This opens the conversation.Advertisement
-
Long-press the message or video you want to unsend. A menu will expand.
-
Tap Unsend or Delete for Everyone. The option you see varies by device and account, but you will see one of these 2 options as long as it's been fewer than 3 minutes (or 1 hour for some people) since sending it.[4]
- After you unsend the message, the person you sent it to will still see that you've sent them something and then unsent or deleted it.
- Having trouble unsending on TikTok? Jump to our troubleshooting guide.
Expert Q&A
Video
Tips
References
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897463967734277&category=web_using_tiktok
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897463967734277&category=web_using_tiktok
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897461052529158&category=web_account
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897461052529158&category=web_account
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897461052529158&category=web_account
- ↑ https://www.tiktok.com/support/faq_detail?id=7543897461052529158










